You are here >> Home >> Sports >> Sports News >> Indian Cricket Team News >> Details

Records and Match Statistics India Vs Sri Lanka WC 2011 Finals ICC Cricket World Cup 2011

Published on Saturday, 2nd of April, 2011      2110 Reads

Records and Match Statistics India Vs Sri Lanka WC 2011 Finals

Aftab Alam

Mumbai, India (BSNS) 2nd April, 2011 - It was the last game for Muttiah Muralitharan, who bowled 0/39 in eight overs.

Sri Lanka cricket team Mahela Jayawardene became the sixth player to score a century in a World Cup Final, and the first to score a century from a losing World Cup side.

This was the first all-Asian final in World Cup history and the sixth consecutive final (since 1992) to feature at least one Asian team.

It was Sri Lanka's second successive final having appeared in 2007.

This match was also the third World Cup Final appearance for both India and Sri Lanka. Both teams had won the World Cup once before. India won in 1983 defeating the West Indies and Sri Lanka in 1996, winning against Australia.

India successfully chasing Sri Lanka's 274 runs is the highest run-chase ever achieved in a World Cup final and only the third time the team batting second has won the World Cup final.

India joined Australia and the West Indies as the only teams to have won the World Cup more than once.
« Previous NewsNext News »    SocialTwist Tell-a-Friend Follow us on twitter ( Send this news to friend )
Tags: Sri Lanka Cricket Team  ICC Cricket World Cup 2011  Cricket World Cup 2011  Chase  Muttiah Muralitharan  Once  Lanka  Game  Mahela Jayawardene  Indian Cricket Team  EIGHT  Asin  
Indian Cricket Team
Related movies and celebrities news and albums

Sri Lanka Cricket Team - Photos : 55 Total Hits : 14975

Muttiah Muralitharan - Photos : 101 Total Hits : 42494

Mahela Jayawardene - Photos : 128 Total Hits : 82074

Indian Cricket Team - Photos : 606 Total Hits : 618610

DISQUS this News
blog comments powered by Disqus
Search News

Translate this News in your language
Latest Sports News
ICC Cricket World Cup
Watch Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Tendulkar

Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar pronunciation (born 24 April 1973) is an Indian cricketer widely regarded as one of the greatest batsmen in the history of cricket
Watch Mahendra Singh Dhoni

Mahendra Singh Dhoni

Mahendra Singh Dhoni commonly known as M. S. Dhoni; born 7 July 1981) is an Indian cricketer and the current captain of the Indian national cricket team.
Watch Saina Nehwal

Saina Nehwal

Saina Nehwal (born March 17, 1990) is an Indian badminton player. Currently ranked number 1 in the India
Watch Yuvraj Singh

Yuvraj Singh

Yuvraj Singh is an Indian international cricketer. He is the son of former Indian fast bowler and Punjabi movie star Yograj Singh.
Watch IPL Sexy Cheerleader

IPL Sexy Cheerleader

South African cheerleader Gabriella Pasqualotto has become an internet sensation and a mini-celebrity
Watch Sania Mirza

Sania Mirza

Super Sexy Hot Sania Mirza has brought India Pride with her performances in Tennis
News Archives
« April 2011 »
Search News Archive